Special Events and Carol Services 2019

During Advent there are many special events and carol services taking place in our Parish. You are asked to support as many of these as possible. The details of some of these are noted below: Toward Bethlehem: An Advent Journey with Mary and Joseph. The Parish Pastoral Council has organised a series of weekly talks during Advent.  The series uses guided meditation on scriptural passages, art and poetry.  Each session will be held in Iona at 7pm and will last for approximately one hour.  The dates of the sessions are:  Thursday 28 November; Thursday 5 December; Thursday 12 December; Wednesday 18 December. Friday 30th November – Annual Mass for the Deceased Members of the Parish at 7.00pm. This evening is a beautiful expression of the faith, hope, love & belief that Jesus Christ has died for us and that He offers redemption to all of us who believe in Him. Everyone is welcome to this Mass and especially those who have lost a loved...
Read More

Mass Times During Christmas 2019

During the Christmas period there will be a number of changes to the times of Mass. These are summarised below: . Thursday 19th December – a Penitential Service will be held at 7.30pm Friday 20th December - normal Mass at 7pm Saturday 21st December – normal Vigil Mass at 6.30pm  Sunday 22nd December – normal Sunday Masses at 10.00am and 12 noon Monday 23rd December - normal Monday Mass at 7pm TUESDAY 24TH DECEMBER – CHRISTMAS EVE VIGIL MASS – 9.00pm WEDNESDAY 25TH DECEMBER – CHRISTMAS DAY MASS – 10.00am and 12 noon THURSDAY 26TH DECEMBER – ST STEPHEN’S DAY – Mass at 12 noon Friday 27th December – Evening Mass at 7.00pm Saturday 28th December – Vigil Mass at 6.30pm Sunday 29th December – Sunday Mass at 10am and 12 noon Monday 30th December – Evening Mass at 7.00pm  Tuesday 31st December – Morning Mass at 9.30am. Wednesday 1st January 2020 – Evening Mass at 7.00pm Usual Mass times thereafter FEAST OF THE EPIPHANY Feast of the Epiphany, Monday 6th January....
Read More

The Advent Wreath

This year the advent season begins on Sunday 1 December. Advent is a time of repentance and preparation to celebrate the birth of Christ. Liturgically, the colours associated with Advent are purple (penance) and pink (joy). One of the most familiar images is the Advent Wreath and its candles. The wreath symbolises the light of Christ coming into the world, increasing in brightness each week until Christmas itself. The first two purple candles represent Hope that the Lord is coming and the Faith expressed in the journey to Bethlehem. The pink candle of the third week is Gaudete Sunday – expressing joy at the imminent arrival of Jesus. The final candle symbolises Peace and the final white candle, representing the purity of Christ is lit on Christmas itself.  ...
Read More